Author Topic: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra  (Read 223 times)

Francois

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« on: December 04, 2017, 05:57:38 AM »
So just got the plugin and testing it on Tetra,can confirm it works like a charm with it.
Will test Roland Jx8p,Akai AX73 and Yamaha DX7 next.

Here is the result,made 3 different tunings for each section of the track.
https://soundcloud.com/fxbip/dark-triple-tuning

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 06:27:15 PM »
Thanks for the confirmation.
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Francois

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra,Korg Monologue
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 08:56:16 AM »
made 13 notes Scale on Monologue

https://soundcloud.com/fxbip/korgph13ntuningeerie

But there seems to be a problem with the Monologue,when retuned with Alt Tuner the keyboard goes off and does not work anymore.
Have to switch the synth off-on when it happens to make the keyboard to work again.
Might be a Monologue bug.

No problem with sounds tho.Seems to be working perfectly in that aspect.


Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 05:59:18 PM »
Nice track! I may be able to help you with the bug. Are you talking about the korg monologue? What midi mode of alt-tuner are you using? (octave, non-octave, mono, etc.)
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 06:12:31 PM by Tall Kite »
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Francois

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2018, 08:45:35 AM »
Mono,Octave and Non-Octave(13 notes)

Seems to turn the keys off when retuned.

Francois

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2018, 01:09:31 PM »
Might be turning off local control or something

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2018, 07:23:12 PM »
Actually, you want to turn off local control. Otherwise you get two different tunings at once.
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Experimental Braindance on Dave Smith Tetra
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2018, 01:06:09 AM »
Let's be sure we're clear on the basic process. The synth contains a keyboard and a sound module. Usually the keyboard communicates directly with the sound module, so you hear what you're playing. To retune the synth, we turn off local control, breaking this connection. instead, the midi goes out the synth to the computer, where alt-tuner alters the midi and sends it back to the synth. The synth plays the altered midi coming from the computer, NOT the original midi coming from the keyboard. So the synth needs to be connected to the computer the whole time. It's not like you download the tuning to the synth and can then disconnect the computer. (Although if you were using sysexes you could.)

You say the synth goes silent and you fix it by turning it off and back on again. But doing that would reactivate local control. Because that's always the default setting, local control on, so you can just turn it on and play it. You don't want that, because then the sound module is responding to both the original midi and the retuned midi. So if you play A above middle C, the synth plays A-440, and it ALSO plays whatever pitch that key has been retuned to, maybe 50? higher or lower, maybe more. Each key makes a pair of pitches, usually too close to be a nice harmonious interval but too far apart to be a nice chorusing, and the whole keyboard sounds like crap.

It's hard to tell exactly what's going on from your description, but if you're turning the synth off and on and NOT getting two pitches per key, I suspect you're doing something wrong.

OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths