Author Topic: Play C and E  (Read 86 times)

Sugen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Play C and E
« on: June 19, 2017, 01:15:33 AM »
Dear Kite

May I ask a question?
According to the page200 of the Manual,if we play C and E,we are to see "M3-14c=386c=y3=5/4".
But I only see "a46+14c=414c=g6=8/5-400c=Try3" .
Is the warning 'can't update the midi CC...' related?

Sugen

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 01:32:48 PM »
If you want to use keyswitches or footpedals, you need to load alt-keyswitcher into the FX chain before alt-tuner. That's what the "can't update" message refers to.

For the C -- E display, make sure that ratiobend and keybend aren't active. The easiest way to do this is to remove alt-tuner and reload it.
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Sugen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 10:36:27 PM »
Dear Kite

Thanks for your fast reply.

I reload alt-tuner and try.
But it seems not to work perfectly.
I made Mulab to sound C and E eight times.
But alt-tuner works on 3rd and 4th and 5th and 7th measure,but don't work on 1st and 2nd 8th measures.

Is Mulab not suitable for alt-tuner?
If so,would you mind tell me the best Daw application suitable for alt-tuner.

Sugen Takeda

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2017, 01:50:01 PM »
I don't know Mulab, Let me look into this...
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2017, 08:01:05 PM »
The best DAW for alt-tuner is Reaper.
http://www.reaper.fm/
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2017, 06:22:45 PM »
Haven't forgotten about this, will get to mulab soon...
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2017, 11:55:12 PM »
OK, I finally found the time to look into mulab. Sorry for the delay.

I got mulab working with alt-tuner and pianoTeq. You only need one rack:
 
slot 1: reajs / alt-keyswitcher
slot 2: reajs / alt-tuner
slot 3: pianoTeq

This method also works with Helm, a free synth. But it won't work with the instruments bundled with mulab, like Bell Keys. The output from alt-tuner needs to be sent to multiple instruments. Each instrument must receive only one midi channel. I found one way to do this. But I don't really understand mulab that well. I was confused by tracks and racks and modules. So there may be an easier way, perhaps using sub-tracks. You can ask on the mulab forum how to send only one specific channel of midi to an instrument.

I simply replaced pianoTeq with a lot of sends to other racks. Since there are not enough slots to send to all the instruments, one of the racks only has sends to other racks. Then in each rack with an instrument, I put a simple JS effect that filters out midi by channel. I wrote it just for Mulab users, I call it alt-midiFilter. Put it in the same  folder where you put alt-tuner. Then run mulab and open the attached project, alt-tuner demo.

alt-tuner rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-keyswitcher
alt-tuner rack -- slot 2: reajs / alt-tuner

B3 1 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 1
B3 2 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 2
B3 3 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 3
B3 4 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 4
B3 5 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 5
B3 6 rack -- slot 1: reajs / alt-midiFilter, set to channel 6
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths

Tall Kite

  • The Tall One
  • Administrator
  • Expert Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • my website:
Re: Play C and E
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2017, 12:09:05 AM »
Here is the modular view. I deleted most of the red lines (red = audio, blue = midi, I think), to make the picture clearer. But you don't have to delete them.
OS: OSX 10.5.4, OS X 10.9.5, Windows 7
DAWs: Reaper, ProTools 7.4 (PT is mac only)
HARDWARE: Yamaha s90 ES, M-Audio Keystation 49e, Line 6 FBV mark II express (footpedal unit)
SOFTSYNTHS: Kontakt 4, SampleTank 3 free, Pianoteq demo, ReaSynth, all Xen-Arts synths